This award, established in 2011, is given to an individual who has worked to bring diverse alumni together to make a positive contribution to the University community. The award is named in memory of late BAA President Joe Fernandez ’85, whose leadership was characterized by integrity, selfless dedication, optimism for the future and a commitment to diversity.


2019 Recipient

Kenneth H. McDaniel ’69, P’13

An outstanding leader, advisor, and collaborator to many generations of Brown men and women, Ken McDaniel was also a cherished friend to countless members of the Brown family. Ken was dedicated to serving his alma mater since his days on campus as the spokesperson for students in the 1968 Black Student Walkout, and he continued to serve Brown through the years as a thoughtful voice for students and alumni alike. His deep commitment to Brown and his confidence in what the University could achieve reflect the dedication, optimism, and integrity of the award’s namesake.

All Previous Award Recipients

  • Anthony S.W. Cheng ’95
  • Karen McLaurin Chesson ’74
  • Felipe M. Floresca '73
  • Javette Pinkney Laremont '80 
  • Hannelore B. Rodriguez-Farrar ’87 ’90 A.M., ’09 Ph.D.
  • Sean J. Siperstein ‘05
  • Preston Tisdale ’73, P ’10, ’10 ’14 MD, ’12
  • Augustus A. White III ’57, ’97 DMS (hon.), P’98